Kay K. Runge (Chair)

Educational Consultant
Library Consultant
KK Runge Associates

Ms. Runge is a library building consultant and fundraiser for libraries since she retired as Library Director of the Des Moines Public Library. A graduate of Iowa State University with a Bachelor of Science in History Education, she received her Master's degree in Library Science at the University of Iowa. She was appointed by Iowa Governor Branstad to Chair the Terrace Hill Commission and by Iowa Governor Culver to serve on the Iowa Hospital Licensing Board. The Iowa Board of Regents appointed her to the Iowa Public Radio Board, where she served as Chair. She also serves on The Figge Museum of Art Board of Directors. She is a past President of the Iowa Library Association and the Public Library Association of the American Library Association.

She received the Carrie Chapman Catt Award for Public Advancement from Iowa State University in 2006, the Women of Influence Award from the Des Moines Business Record in 2005, and the Intellectual Freedom Award from the American Library Association in 2002. Ms. Runge has served on the original Kaplan College Board of Trustees since 1997. She became Chair of the KU Board of Trustees in 2008.

Request More Information

To receive the Kaplan University Program Guide, including areas of study and associated career paths, please complete this information form.